A gold-loan boom you can already buy listed
Muthoot Pappachan Group, Trivandrum. Gold loans, plus microfinance and home loans. This is the share being sold in the unlisted market at ₹225. Not on any stock exchange.
The Muthoot Group, Kochi. Mainly gold loans. On the NSE and BSE since 2011, around ₹2,875. A different company, different branch of the family. Cannot be bought in the unlisted market.
This note is in three parts. Part one looks at Muthoot Fincorp on its own. Part two looks at the listed Muthoot Finance on its own. Part three puts them side by side and asks the only question that matters: at ₹225, why buy the unlisted one?
Four terms, in plain English.
Capital — the company's own money: everything it owns minus everything it owes. Price ÷ capital is what you pay for each ₹1 of it. Pay 3× and you hand over ₹3 for ₹1, betting the company keeps earning well on it.
Loan book — the total money it has lent out.
Margin — the gap between the rate it charges borrowers and the rate it pays its own lenders. That gap is where a lender's profit comes from.
Bad loans — loans unpaid for more than 90 days.
A pawnbroker with 3,700 shops
A customer brings gold jewellery to a branch. An appraiser weighs it and checks purity. The branch hands over cash — a fixed share of what the gold is worth — and locks the jewellery in its vault until the loan is repaid. Loans are small, usually three to twelve months, and the same customers keep coming back.
| Branches | 3,736 at March 2025; FY26 count not published |
| Customers | 53 lakh, about 1.5 lakh transacting daily |
| Where the branches are | About 78% outside big cities |
| What it lends against | Mostly gold jewellery |
| Other lending | Property and small business loans, ₹3,803 Cr in FY25 |
| Non-gold share of revenue | About 15% in FY25 |
Two things follow. Because the security is already inside the vault, a lender charging over 21% can still show barely 1% bad loans — the real risk is the gold price falling, not the customer defaulting. And because costs sit in branches rather than in the loan book, profits jump whenever lending grows faster than the branch network. Both matter later.
Two ordinary years, then a vertical line
The FY25 dip in profit is the microfinance company it owns, which lost ₹222 crore that year and recovered in FY26. Section 04 explains it.
| FY23 | FY24 | FY25 | FY26 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Interest earned | 4,828 | 5,973 | 7,664 | 10,310 |
| Interest paid out | 2,233 | 2,811 | 3,443 | 4,198 |
| Kept as margin | 2,595 | 3,162 | 4,221 | 6,112 |
| Set aside for bad loans | 288 | 201 | 1,157 | 709 |
| Profit, whole group | 646 | 1,048 | 608 | 1,848 |
| Profit belonging to you | — | — | 711 | 1,756 |
| Bad loans | 2.11% | 1.62% | 1.98% | 1.03% |
| FY24 | FY25 | FY26 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total loans, including loans sold on | — | 32,055 | 56,185 |
| Loans on its own books | 21,415 | 25,752 | 45,833 |
| Profit | 563 | 787 | 1,640 |
| Its own capital | 4,276 | 4,506 | 6,689 |
| Running costs as % of income kept | — | 64.2% | 53.7% |
Blanks are figures the company has not published. Note the two loan figures: it markets ₹56,185 crore, but ₹45,833 crore sits on its own balance sheet — the rest was sold on to other lenders, which it does regularly.
What it borrows at, what it lends at
For any lender this is the whole game.
Bars show FY26; the dotted line is where FY25 stood. Worked out from the audited accounts, not taken from a company presentation.
Borrowing got cheaper as rates fell and CRISIL raised the company's rating to AA. Lending got slightly dearer. And because branch costs stayed flat while income doubled, almost all of it dropped through to profit — that was the single biggest reason returns jumped.
| FY25 | FY26 | |
|---|---|---|
| Interest earned (a) | 4,936.17 | 7,728.44 |
| Interest paid (b) | 2,313.35 | 3,069.41 |
| Average loans in the year (c) | 23,583.64 | 35,792.74 |
| Average borrowings in the year (d) | 23,086.03 | 34,731.89 |
| Rate charged (a ÷ c) | 20.93% | 21.59% |
| Rate paid (b ÷ d) | 10.02% | 8.84% |
| Margin kept ((a − b) ÷ c) | 11.12% | 13.02% |
"Average" is the opening balance plus the closing balance, divided by two. The FY24 balances used for the FY25 averages are ₹21,415.05 crore of loans and ₹20,317.48 crore of borrowings, which matches the company's own published figure.
Clean on paper, heavily borrowed underneath
Bad loans halved, from 1.98% to 1.03%. Two caveats. The loan book nearly doubled in the same year, and a loan cannot be 90 days overdue if it was made last month — in rupees, overdue loans were roughly flat. And in gold lending the lender chooses when to auction, so this number is partly a decision, not just a fact.
The bigger issue is borrowing. The company owes ₹6.61 for every ₹1 of its own capital, and its cushion sits three points above the regulator's minimum. It cannot keep growing this fast without raising fresh money.
The three companies it owns
| Company | Owns | Loans | FY26 profit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Listed Muthoot Microfin Small unsecured loans to rural women | 50.21% | ₹14,006 Cr up 13% | ₹170 Cr FY25: −₹222 Cr |
| Unlisted Muthoot Housing Finance Home loans for lower-income families | 83.26% | not disclosed | ₹42 Cr FY25 figure |
| Unlisted Muthoot Pappachan Technologies In-house software team | 60.00% | — | ₹1 Cr FY25 figure |
The microfinance company is why group profit tripled. FY25 went badly wrong — a Karnataka law restricting recovery, plus too much borrowing across the industry, produced a ₹222 crore loss. FY26 reversed it: bad loans fell from 4.84% to 3.89%, borrowing costs fell, CRISIL raised its rating, and it made ₹170 crore.
Two things to hold on to. It is still far riskier than gold lending, and the recovery is one year old. And Muthoot Fincorp owns only half of it — you see all of its assets in the group accounts, but only half its profits belong to you. That becomes important in section 08.
The same business, at bigger scale
India's largest gold lender, on the stock exchange since 2011 and in the Nifty Next 50. It has paid a dividend for fourteen years running. Its FY26 was every bit as good as Muthoot Fincorp's.
| FY25 | FY26 | Change | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loans, whole group | ₹1,22,181 Cr | ₹1,81,916 Cr | +49% |
| Of which gold loans | ₹1,07,326 Cr | ₹1,65,030 Cr | +54% |
| Profit, whole group | ₹5,352 Cr | ₹10,607 Cr | +98% |
| Branches | 4,855 | 4,968 | +2% |
| Its own capital | ₹28,437 Cr | ₹37,740 Cr | +33% |
| Borrowed per ₹1 of capital | — | ₹3.9 | — |
| Capital cushion | 23.71% | 20.75% | — |
| Dividend | — | ₹30 a share | 14th year running |
It is not purely gold either. It owns Belstar Microfinance (66%, ₹8,222 crore of loans), Muthoot Homefin (wholly owned, ₹3,485 crore of home loans), Muthoot Money (wholly owned, ₹9,794 crore of gold loans), an insurance broker and a listed Sri Lankan lender. Gold is 91% of its book, so Muthoot Fincorp is more spread out — but the difference is one of degree, not of kind.
50% more lending, 6% less gold
Muthoot Fincorp does not publish how much gold it holds. Muthoot Finance does — and since both lend against the same metal in the same year, this is the cleanest available read on what actually happened in FY26.
India's largest gold lender grew its book 50% while holding less gold and serving barely more customers. The same jewellery was simply worth more, so each customer could borrow more against it. Volume did almost nothing. Price did nearly everything.
Muthoot Fincorp's book grew 78% in the same year on a branch network that also barely moved. It does not disclose tonnage, so nobody outside the company can separate new customers from revaluation. What can be said is that the same force was working on both — and revaluation runs in both directions.
Same business, very different quality
Listed Muthoot Finance earns roughly twice as much on every rupee it puts to work. Muthoot Fincorp only catches up on return-on-capital because it has borrowed ₹7.0 per ₹1 of its own money against ₹3.9. That is not a better business — it is the same business with more borrowed money in front of it, and it is the kind of return that does not survive a bad year.
| Listed Muthoot Finance | Listed Muthoot Microfin | Unlisted Muthoot Fincorp | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it costs | ₹1,15,458 Cr | ₹3,590 Cr | ₹22,005 Cr |
| Loans | ₹1,81,916 Cr | ₹14,006 Cr | ₹73,449 Cr |
| Profit | ₹10,607 Cr | ₹170 Cr | ₹1,848 Cr |
| Price ÷ capital | 2.95× | 1.26× | 3.27× |
| Price ÷ profit | 10.9× | 21.1× | 12.5× |
| Dividend | 1.04% | none | negligible |
| Can you sell it? | Any trading day | Any trading day | Only through a dealer |
The usual pitch for the unlisted share is variety: Muthoot Finance is mostly gold, Muthoot Fincorp gives you gold plus microfinance plus housing. But both halves are already on the exchange — and the microfinance half is Muthoot Fincorp's own subsidiary. Roughly 80% Muthoot Finance and 20% Muthoot Microfin, weighted by loan size, comes to about 2.6× capital against 3.27×. Cheaper, sellable any day, pays a dividend — and you can cut the microfinance weight to zero the day a state government drafts another law.
How much you pay for ₹1 of capital
After the 1-for-5 share split announced in May 2026 there are 97.80 crore shares. At ₹225 the whole company is priced at ₹22,005 crore. "Capital" can mean four different things here, and the gap between them is a full turn of the multiple.
| Which capital | ₹ crore | Per share | Multiple |
|---|---|---|---|
| Group capital, including the half of Muthoot Microfin it does not own | 8,218 | ₹84.03 | 2.68× |
| Group capital belonging to you | 6,730 | ₹68.81 | 3.27× |
| Muthoot Fincorp alone, as reported to the regulator | 6,689 | ₹68.40 | 3.29× |
| Muthoot Fincorp alone, share capital plus reserves | 6,267 | ₹64.08 | 3.51× |
The widely quoted 2.7× uses the first row. That includes ₹1,489 crore belonging to other people — mostly the 49.79% of Muthoot Microfin owned by its public shareholders. You cannot claim that capital, so it should not sit in the sum. The honest figure is 3.27×, and that single correction is worth about 22% of the apparent valuation.
Take out the listed piece and it gets worse
The Muthoot Microfin stake has a published market price. Value it at what the market says, and see what is left for everything else.
| Capital | Value | Multiple | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50.21% of Listed Muthoot Microfin | ₹1,434 Cr | ₹1,803 Cr market price | 1.26× |
| Everything else — the gold business plus housing | ₹5,296 Cr | ₹20,202 Cr | 3.81× |
| Total | ₹6,730 Cr | ₹22,005 Cr | 3.27× |
No estimates. The stake is valued at its own stock market price and its capital at 50.21% of Muthoot Microfin's published ₹2,855 crore. The housing company is left inside "everything else" rather than valued separately, which makes 3.81× a conservative figure.
Strip out the listed piece and the rest of Unlisted Muthoot Fincorp is priced at 3.81× its capital. The whole of Listed Muthoot Finance — two and a half times the loans, 196 tonnes of gold, 4,968 branches — is available at 2.95×.
| Listed at ₹2,875 | Unlisted at ₹225 | You pay more by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price ÷ capital, company alone | 3.06× | 3.51× | 15% |
| Price ÷ capital, group, your share | 2.95× | 3.27× | 11% |
| Price ÷ profit, company alone | 11.4× | 13.4× | 18% |
| Price ÷ profit, group, your share | 10.9× | 12.5× | 15% |
There is no way of measuring it that makes the unlisted share cheaper. Whichever line you pick, you pay 11% to 18% more. And the gap is widening: the listed share has fallen about 8% since early July as gold came off its highs, while the unlisted quote has not moved with it.
A good business, fully priced, at a flattering moment
↑ In its favour
- The market is growing fastLoans against gold jewellery more than doubled in the year to May 2026, to about ₹5.1 lakh crore.
- New RBI rules helpFrom April 2026 customers can borrow 85% of the gold's value on loans under ₹2.5 lakh, up from 75%.
- Borrowing is getting cheaperRating raised to AA; borrowing cost down from 10.02% to 8.84% in a year.
- The microfinance problem is fixedFrom a ₹222 crore loss to a ₹170 crore profit.
- An IPO is board-approved₹4,000 crore of new shares, with the promoters selling none of their own.
↓ Against it
- The growth came from the gold priceThe listed leader's own numbers: 50% more lending, 6% less gold, 1% more customers.
- Very heavily borrowed₹6.61 per ₹1 of capital, with a cushion three points above the minimum.
- This year's margin is its best everBoth the margin and the cost ratio are records, and both move back to normal when growth slows.
- Microfinance can go wrong againKarnataka showed how fast one state law can damage the book.
- No discount for being unlistedYou cannot sell freely, there is a six-month lock-in after any listing, and the price is already down 14% in six months.
This is a proper institution — a 139-year-old name, 3,736 branches, 53 lakh customers, an AA rating, 1% bad loans. At the right price it would be a straightforward long-term holding.
₹225 does not look like that price. You are paying more than three times capital for a year in which everything went right at once, and the biggest single reason was the gold price rather than anything the company did. And it is not something you can only get here: gold lending is available bigger and better run at 2.95× capital, and microfinance — from this company's own subsidiary — at 1.26×.
Watch it, don't chase it. For this exposure today, the listed route costs less and works better.
The share has fallen 14% in six months and sits at its 52-week low, which suggests the market is asking the same question. That is the beginning of a better price, not yet a good one.
What would change our mind
- The IPO document filed, at or above today's price
- Two quarters of growth from more customers and more gold, not a higher gold price
- The margin holding above 12% in a quarter when gold is flat or down
- Listed Muthoot Microfin holding bad loans below 3% for a full year
- The price falling to a real discount to the listed company rather than a premium